Upcoming Events

Coronavirus COVID-19
Saturday, March 7, 2020
Media Release  UT College of Medicine Chattanooga, TN March 7, 2020   Coronavirus COVID-19 UpdateUT College of Medicine Chattanooga andUT Health Science Center Memphis   The leadership of the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga and Erlanger Health System are meeting regularly to determine the appropriate response and action plan to address a potential Coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic if it were to spread and impact the Chattanooga and surrounding communities.   This is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation and CDC will provide updated information as it becomes available, in addition to updated guidance.     The University will follow The Centers for Disease Control guidelines for involvement in managing COVID-19 patients for each campus.  Also the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga will also follow UTHSC and Erlanger policies regarding Resident, Fellow, Medical Student, and PA Student involvement in the care of these patients as soon as the policies have been modified.  We will continue to update this page as more information is made known to us.    On Friday, March 6, 2020, Steve Schwab, MD, Chancellor for the statewide University of Tennessee Health Science Center, communicated with all faculty, staff, and students to update on the UTHSC response to the rapidly evolving situation related to the COVID-19 virus.  He stated that, "Although we are unaware of any confirmed cases of COVID-19 on campus or in the Memphis area, we must plan for the possibility of an outbreak.  A case has been reported in Tennessee in the Nashville area.   It is important to note, the vast majority of people who get the COVID-19 virus recover. We will be prepared and do our part to protect our campus and community, and continue our missions of education, research, clinical care, and outreach through unsettling times."    Click here to view our Coronavirus COVID-19 webpage.  
Resilient Threads
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Media Release  UT College of Medicine Chattanooga, TN Feb 22, 2020    Resilient Threads,  by  Our Own Faculty and Author, Mukta Panda, MDAssistant Dean for Well-Being and Medical Student EducationUT College of Medicine Chattanooga   Mukta Panda, MD, MACP, FRCP-London, is an award-winning physician, speaker, and facilitator whose work seeks to transform the heart of patient care and medical education. She is the Assistant Dean for Well-Being and Medical Student Education and a Professor of Medicine at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga and author of more than 60 publications.  Her writing focuses on educational and curricular development, spirituality in medicine, addressing fatigue and stress, and promoting the well-being of health care professionals.    Recently interviewed by Chattanooga Times FreePress reporter,. Elizabeth Fite, Dr. Panda stated that, "after discovering a close friend and colleague had taken his own life, she felt compelled to do more to support and empower other health care professionals."  Dr. Panda's new book, Resilient Threads: Weaving Joy and Meaning into Well-Being, is a memoir that aims to highlight what she calls an epidemic of physician burnout, depression and suicide and show others who feel overwhelmed by demanding careers that they're not alone.  She said that this was a hard book to write, because it's really baring her soul, but it's very important to her.   She stated that, "It's my voice collectively with those in any vocation - not just health care - who feel powerless against a system."  Dr. Panda is passionate about clinician self-care, colleague care and well-being. In her book, she shares her journey practicing medicine and her strategies for maintaining joy in her work and teaching young doctors in training how to do the same."   Click here to view Ms. Fite's article in the Times FreePress.   For more information about Resilient Threads, visit  The book is available at Star Line Books in Chattanooga, as well as online via Amazon, Barnes & Noble, AmazonKindle, and Apple iBooks.    
UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive