Dean's Office



David C. Seaberg, MD, Professor and Dean

Robert C. Fore, EdD, Associate Dean/DIO

Louis R. Lambiase, MD, Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs

Mukta Panda, MD


 In August 2007, David C. Seaberg, MD, CPE, FACEP, was appointed Dean of the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga Campus.  One month later he appointed Robert C. Fore, EdD, FAHEP CCMEP, as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Designated Institutional Official for the Chattanooga Campus to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).  Dr. Fore also assumed the role of Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education (CME) for the statewide system (Memphis, Knoxville, and Chattanooga Campuses).


In July 2009, Dean Seaberg appointed a new Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs, Louis R. Lambiase, MD.  Dr. Lambiase will be actively involved in developing a Faculty Practice Plan.  In addition to serving as Assistant Dean, Dr. Lambiase was appointed Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology in the Department of Medicine, and is leading an effort to establish a Gastroenterology Fellowship by 2016.  Dr. Lambiase is the senior member in the Academic Gastroenterology Practice established by Erlanger Health System in 2009.  As of August 1, 2014, Dr. Lambiase has also been appointed as Interim Chair of the Department of Medicine.


On August 1, 2014, Dean Seaberg appointed Mukta Panda, MD, FACP, as Assistant Dean for Medical Student Education.  Her new role will allow her to pursue her academic and clinical interests in developing our educational mission and furthering the growth of the Department of Internal Medicine.  Dr. Panda will focus on:

  • Ensuring comparability and quality of medical student education on the Chattanooga Campus
  • Developing the CAPSTONE project in Chattanooga for senior UT medical students
  • Initiating OSCE's in Chattanooga and re-developing our Simulation Center training
  • Leading the Gold Humanism Honor Society and Women in Medicine and Sciences Chapters

Dr. Panda will continue to work as a Core Faculty member for the Internal Medicine Residency and as Program Director for the Transitional Year Residency. 


Dean Seaberg observed, "I am looking forward to further developing the academic medicine  linkage between the University of Tennessee, Erlanger, and the Chattanooga community.  The UT-Erlanger academic medical center not only provides state-of-the-art care for our patients today, but we are conducting cutting edge research, as well as training new physicians for the future care of our patients in East Tennessee."


The UT College of Medicine Chattanooga provides excellent, accredited medical education, offering a unique blend of quality lifestyle with the required educational components and state-of-the-art clinical facilities.  Our primary clinical hospitals and a recognized leader in healthcare and technology.  It is comprised of the Baroness Erlanger Campus (adult hospital), Children's Hospital at Erlanger, Erlanger North, Erlanger Bledsoe, and Erlanger East Campus (which includes Erlanger Women's East).


Residency programs include:  Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Pediatrics, Plastic Surgery, Surgery, and a one-year Transitional Year Program preparing resident physicians for specialty residency training in Anesthesiology, Dermatology, Neurology, Ophthalmology, Pathology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, and Radiology.   A Urology Residency Program has been accredited to begin training July 1, 2015.


Fellowship programs include:  Colon and Rectal Surgery, Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Neuro-Interventional Surgery, Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery, Surgical Critical Care, Transitions to Practice in General Surgery, and Vascular Surgery.


Revised:  9/2014


UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive