Medical Student Clerkship Directors


Family Medicine

Internal Medicine 







Elizabeth Close, MD, Clerkship Director

Elizabeth D. (Betsy) Close, MD

Clerkship Director (M3 Students), Department of Family Medicine
Hometown: Chattanooga, TN

Medical School: University of Tennessee College of Medicine (Memphis)

Residency: University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga (Family Medicine)

Interests:  Diabetes and Preventive Care


Administrative Contact:  Elissa McCoy -


Dr. Close attended the University of Tennessee for undergraduate and medical school before returning to Chattanooga for residency. She also served as Chief Resident. After graduating, she worked for Erlanger for five years in outpatient practice and precepting at UTFP weekly.

She enjoys spending time outdoors with her husband Tim and son Charlie. Each summer, Dr. Close volunteers as medical staff at Tennessee Camp for Diabetic Children (and welcomes residents coming along!).


Patrick Koo, MD, SCM, Internal Medicine Clerkship Director


Patrick Koo, MD, SCM

Resiuratory, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine

Internal Medicine Clerkship Director
 423-778-6670  423-778-6670  or

 800-947-7823  800-947-7823, extension 6670



Administrative Contact:


Dr. Koo was appointed Clerkship Director as of January 2020.

 Abdelazim Sirelkhatim, MD, Neurology Clerkship Director

Abdelazim Sirelkhatim, MD
Neurology Clerkship Director

Administrative Contact:


Dr. Sirelkhatim was named Neurology Clerkship Director in 2010 and also serves as the Neurology Education Coordinator for the Internal Medicine Residency.  His faculty rank is Assistant Professor in the Division of Neurology.  He is part of the UT Erlanger Neurology Group housed at the Erlanger Medical Mall and serves as Associate Director for the Erlanger Stroke Center.  The practice is also home to Southeast Tennessee's first and only accredited Primary Stroke Center. Erlanger earned the Gold Seal of Approval from The Joint Commission for Primary Stroke Centers, recognizing that the Erlanger stroke care program follows national standards and guidelines that can significantly improve outcomes for stroke patients.  


Dr. Sirelkhatim received his Medical Degree from the University of Khartoum in Sudan.  He completed a residency in Neurology at the Medical College of Georgia.  Dr. Sirelkhatim is Board Certified in Neurology and Vascular Neurology. He is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology, Movement Disorder Society, and American Heart Association.



Jeanie Dassow, MD, OB/GYN Clerkship Director

Jeanie Dassow, MD

General Obstetrics and Gynecology

OB/GYN Clerkship Director, Clinic Director, and Assistant Professor

 423-778-7515  or
 800-947-7823  800-947-7823,  extension 7515

Administrative Contact:  Connie Land --


Dr. Jeanie Dassow graduated with the highest distinction from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in 1987 and then completed a residency in OB/GYN at Barnes Hospital/Washington University in St. Louis in 1991. She was later faculty at the University
of Kentucky where she won several teaching awards in both Family Medicine and OB/GYN.  Dr. Dassow joined the UT College of
Medicine Chattanooga faculty in the late Fall 2010 and was appointed Clerkship Director for UT Chattanooga Department of OB/GYN in January 2011. Her academic interests are providing care
in areas of health disparities, preventive medicine, global health,
and medical education.  She and her physician husband have six children.


Dr. Dassow is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology and also serves as Director of the OB/GYN Clerkship.

Cathy A. Stevens, MD, Professor and Clerkship Director

Cathy A. Stevens, MD

Pediatrics (Genetics)

Pediatric Clerkship Director
 423-778-6217  423-778-6217 or
 800-947-7823  800-947-7823, extension 6217
Administrative Contact:

Dr. Stevens is Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga. She is primarily from Memphis. A member of the UT faculty since 1991, she received her M.D. from the UT Health Science Center in Memphis. She completed a residency in Pediatrics at UT/LeBonheur Children's Medical Center and a Clinical Genetics Fellowship at the University of Utah, Salt Lake City.


Dr. Stevens is Board Certified in Pediatrics and Medical Genetics and previously held faculty appointments at the University of Utah and The Medical College of Virginia.

Photos not available

Audrey Hime, MD(Psychiatry)
Psychiatry Clerkship Co-Directors
Mocassin Bend Mental Health Institute


Administrative Contact:  Joyce Poke --

(423) 778-6670


Dr. Audrey Hime and Dr. Joe Himes practice inpatient psychiatry at Mocassin Bend Mental Health Institute in Chattanooga and have been serving as Co-Directors for the Psychiatry Clerkship in Chattanooga.


J. Daniel Stanley, MD, FACS, Surgery Clerkship Director

Daniel Stanley, MD, FACS

Surgery (General and Colorectal Surgery)

Surgery Clerkship Director
423-778-7695  423-778-7695 or
 800-947-7823  800-947-7823, extension 7695

Administrative Contact:  Holly Rambo -


Dr. Daniel Stanley completed medical school training at Indiana University School of Medicine.  He completed a Surgery Residency at Iowa Methodist Medical Center in Des Moines and subsequently completed Colorectal Fellowship in Royal Oak Michigan at William Beaumont Hospital before returning to Chattanooga and joining the faculty at UTCOMC in 1999.




 Updated 3/2/2020










UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive