Faculty - Emergency Medicine






Dr. Sudave Mendiratta

Sudave Mendiratta, MD

Core Faculty*

Program Director, Emergency Medicine

Medical Student Director, Emergency Medicine Sr Clerkship

Undergraduate: Lee University

Medical School: Vanderbilt University

Residency Training: Emory University

David C. Seaberg, MD, CPE, FACEP

Chair and Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, and Core Faculty*

Dean, UT College of Medicine Chattanooga

ACEP President 2011-2012

Board Member since 2005, American College of Emergency Physicians

Undergraduate: Washington University in St. Louis

Medical School: University of Minnesota

Residency Training: University of Pittsburgh

Dr. James Creel

James H. Creel, Jr, MD, FACEP
Vice Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Chief Medical Officer, Erlanger

Medical Director, Hamilton County EMS

Senior Board Examiner, American Board of Emergency Medicine

Special Qualifications in Hyperbaric Medicine (also serves as Program Director for the EMS Fellowship)

Undergraduate: University of Texas, Austin

Medical School: Universidad Autonoma de Guadalajara

Residency Training: Saint Mary's Hospital / McGill University, Montreal

Dr. Benjamin Smith

Ben C. Smith, MD

Core Faculty*

Director of Emergency Ultrasound

Undergraduate: University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Medical School: University of Tennessee

Internship: University of Tennessee COM, Chattanooga/Erlanger Hospital

Residency Training: University of Alabama, Birmingham

Ron Buchheit, MD

Core Faculty* )

Medical School: American University of the Caribbean

Residency Training: University of Tennessee, College of Medicine, Chattanooga

Jessica Whittle, MD, PhD 

Director of Research

Robert E. Hamilton III, MD, FACEP

Medical Director, Erlanger Main Campus Emergency Department 

Undergraduate: University of Mississippi

Medical School: University of Mississippi

Internship: University of Tennessee COM, Chattanooga/Erlanger Hospital

Residency Training: University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Jacob Hennings, MD

Core Faculty*


University of Notre Dame

Medical School: 

Indiana University School of Medicine

Residency Training: University of Tennessee, College of Medicine, Chattanooga

Harry Severance, MD, FACEP

Director of Clinical Research Trials

Undergraduate: Duke University

Medical School: Duke University School of Medicine

Residency Training: East Carolina University (Pitt County Memorial Hospital)

David Wharton, MD, FACEP

Vice Chief, Erlanger Emergency Medicine

Medical Director, Tennessee D-MAT1

Undergraduate: Samford University

Medical School: Medical College of Georgia

Residency Training: Emory University


Clinical Faculty


James Bardoner, MD, FACEP

Medical School: Cetec University School of Medicine, Dominican Republic

Residency Training: Sinai Grace Hospital, Detroit

Mark Copeland, MD, FACEP 

Undergraduate: Vanderbilt University

Medical School: University of Tennessee

Residency Training: Denver General Hospital

Mark Gilbert, MD, FACEP

Medical School: University of South Florida

Residency Training: Orlando Regional Medical Center

Christine Jeong, MD, FACEP

Medical School: Medical College of Pennsyvlania

Residency Training: SUNY Stony Brook

Christopher McArdle, MD

Terry Meadows, MD, FACEP

Chief Executive Officer, EmCare SouthEast Region 

Medical School: University of Tennessee, Memphis

Residency Training: University of Tennessee, Memphis

Larry Stone, MD

Medical School: University of Tennessee

Training: John Gaston Hospital, Memphis

Paul Stout, DO

Medical School: Kirksville College of Medicine, Missouri

Residency Training: Chicago Osteopathic Associated Hospitals

Dr. Amy Hess 

Amy Hess, MD

Medical School: University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Residency Training:


Darwin Koller, MD

Medical Director, Pediatric Emergency Department

Medical School: Eastern Virginia University

Residency: University of Connecticut

Fellowship: University of Louisville


Pediatric Emergency

  Thomas Bruns, MD

Medical School: University of South Dakota

Residency: UT College of Medicine Chattanooga

Fellowship: Emory University


Bernard Connell, MD
Medical School: University of Missouri

Residency: University of Iowa

Fellowship: Emory University (Pediatric Critical Care)


 David Fagin, MD
Undergraduate: Miami of Ohio
Medical School: Ohio State University
Residency & Fellowship:
Cincinnati Children's Hospital
Children's Hospital Medical Center – Akron


Shani Freilich, MD
Undergraduate: Brandeis University
Medical School: SUNY Health Sciences Center - Brooklyn
Residency & Fellowship:
University of Minnesota Children's Hospital – Minneapolis


Laura Helfman, MD

Medical School: Medical College of Pennsylvania
Residency: Long Island Jewish Medical Center (Emergency Medicine)

  Paul Johnson, MD
Undergraduate: Evangel College
Medical School: University of Missouri School of Medicine
Residency & Fellowship:
Children's Mercy Hospital
  David Werner, MD
Undergraduate: University of Michigan
Medical School: University of Michigan 
Residency & Fellowship:
University of Virginia
Emory University



UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956     info@utcomchatt.org

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive