Emergency Medicine Residency


Welcome to the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga. We have an outstanding department that truly cares about our patients and provides an excellent training environment for our students and residents. Our Emergency Medicine Residency Program (the first in the University of Tennessee system) trains our residents for the future of medical care while providing them the flexibility to explore and pursue their career plans. 


Two aspects of our program make it unique. First, the Erlanger Health System is a well-run healthcare system. Erlanger is chartered under a county health authority but operates efficiently as an urban, community and academic medical center. Our downtown campus sees over 90,000 adult and pediatric patients yearly and is the only trauma center within a 120-mile radius. Erlanger is also one of the largest stroke centers in the country. Erlanger is undergoing a renaissance of growth with new centers of excellence in Stroke, Cardiovascular Disease, Gastroenterology, Orthopaedic Surgery, and Oncology as well as opening a new state-of-the-art Children’s Hospital Outpatient Facility in December 2018 and developing plans for a new Women’s and Children's Hospital in the next few years.


Erlanger Health System provides a tremendous variety of patients and a wealth of learning experiences. Our Emergency Department is preparing for the future of value-based care with the implementation of patient navigators and case management workers within the department. Emergency Medicine is well respected as a department, and we have excellent interdepartmental and interdisciplinary working relationships.


The second major aspect of our program is our faculty. We have a diverse faculty with a range of interests and experiences to help guide our students and residents as well as provide excellent care for our patients. We have started fellowships in Emergency Medicine Ultrasound and Emergency Medical Services, and we have an active HBO/Wound Care Center. We run the EMS programs for the entire 14 county region. Members of our department have served in a variety of leadership roles within the hospital and continue to be active in changing the future of our specialty.


The Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga and Erlanger Health System is a vibrant academic department that provides an outstanding experience for our students, residents, staff, and patients.


 updated 01/2020

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956     info@utcomchatt.org

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive