Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Award and Lecture


Click on the link to download and print a 2009 Alper Humanitarian Nomination Form.


2009 Nominees  Announced

We are pleased to announce the seven residents who have been nominated for consideration of the 2009 Alper Humanitarian Award, given to a graduating resident who has consistently demonstrated exemplary compassion for patients and colleagues, community service, and humanitarian qualities during residency:


Kelly Arnold, MD (Family Medicine)

Hans Burkholder, MD (Surgery)
Amanda Grubb, MD (Internal Medicine)
Musharraf Navaid, MD (Hospice and Palliative Medicine)
Christy Pearce, MD (OB/GYN)
Brandon Riggan, MD (OB/GYN)
Kurt Scherer, MD (Transitional Year)


Information about the Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Endowment and Award


Dr. AlperThe UT College of Medicine Chattanooga, in conjunction with the Baroness Foundation and the family of the late  Harold Alper, MD, presented the first  Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Award at a special awards ceremony on June 9, 2008, to Laura Cooley, MD, Senior Internal Medicine Resident.  Dr. Alper , who began practicing in 1947, was named to the UT COMC faculty as Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery in 1976.   He was instrumental in founding the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Speech and Hearing Center in the early 1950's, and he pioneered microscopic surgery and laser surgery in Chattanooga.  Dr. Alper's community service included work as the president of the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Medical Society, the Chattanooga Jewish Welfare Foundation and the Jewish Community Center.   This award is given to the Senior Resident who consistently demonstrates the qualities of integrity, respect, and compassion in the care of patients and their families throughout residency training. Nominations were accepted from faculty and Erlanger nursing staff.


Laura A. Cooley, MD, First Recipient, Charles Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Award2008 nominees were:

  • Laura Asbury, MD, Pediatrics
  • Hans Burkholder, MD, Surgery
  • Laura Cooley, MD, Internal Medicine
  • Kye Higdon, MD, Surgery
  • Eric Parks, MD, Family Medicine
  • Alex Stock, MD, Family Medicine

As noted in her nomination, Dr. Cooley has acquired a reputation as an incredibly skilled physician, intense patient advocate, and devoted mentor and teacher of her fellow residents. As her care for and about others has evolved, she developed a strong interest in the care of patients struggling to cope with HIV disease. In addition to her required residency duties, she added clinic sessions several times monthly for the past two years at Chattanooga Cares, an HIV clinic. Dr. Cooley began both an Infectious Disease Fellowship and Masters in Public Health degree program at Tulane in July 2008.


The 2009  Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Award and Lecture are scheduled for Friday, April 17, 2009, from 8 - 10 AM in Probasco Auditorium.  Special guest speaker will be Diane E. Meier, MD, FACP.   Dr. Meier is the Director for the Central to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC), and is Professor of Medical Ethics, Geriatrics, and Internal Medicine, at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York City, New York. 


The 2009 Harold Alper, MD, Humanitarian Community Lecture will also be on Friday, April 17, 2009 from noon-1:30PM.  The lunch lecture will be located  in the Tennessee Room at the UTC University Center.  All community members which work, are involved, or are interested in palliative care are invited.  Click here for additinoal information and registration for this lecture.



(Updated 4/10/2009)


UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956     info@utcomchatt.org

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive